Film Review

Nomad: In the Footsteps of Bruce Chatwin

todayMarch 27, 2020 24 5

Background
share close
For fans of Werner Herzog, Nomadland, Travel Books and Documentaries, and nomadic philosophical wanderings
by: Gareth Jones

Released in 2019, (the same year as Family Romance, LCC) by Werner Herzog, the prolific octogenarian Bavarian master, Nomad examines the ways, both physical and philosophical, that Herzog and renowned British travel writer Bruce Chatwin’s lives intersected.  Like all of his films, Herzog mixes genres and formats in his search for the ecstatic truth, as he recounts his encounters with Chatwin and how their art became intertwined.  Like Herzog, Chatwin was a wanderer and a strong proponent of nomadic walking.  This led to several books including In Patagonia, Songlines, Utz, and  The Viceroy of Ouidah, which Herzog adapted into Cobra Verde.  Herzog interviews many people from Chatwin’s life including his wife, friends, and publisher.  However, in typical Herzog fashion, it is the interviews with people who did not know Chatwin that really highlight the humanity of these two artists who have both gazed into the abyss. Stunning cinematography of Wales, Australia, and Patagonia stir the travel addiction for fellow wanderers. Available now on Amazon Prime

Written by: Gareth Jones

Rate it

Similar posts


OUR SPONSORS ARE AMAZING!!!

0%